The Hobbit #BookReview

Breathless yet alive,
Eerie it gets, as darkness thrive(s);
It speaks of the Ringwinner, the soothsayer and the saviour of Dame,
Luck-wearer, clue-finder and Barrel-rider are hidden in its name. 
Magical and unending is its charm,
Every turn offers a new harm;
The burglar is a high spirited wiz,
Can you tell me what it is?!

You guessed it right (obviously)! It’s The Hobbit by JRR Tolkien. (Yeah, I know! This is nothing as compared to Tolkien. If the whole Milky Way is taken as Tolkien’s poetry then my riddle is only a pin point in front of it. But still, I feel that as my first ever riddle/poem this does a pretty good job. 😛 )

Now coming back to the topic. The Hobbit had been on my reading list for quite a while. So long that it had somewhat started to rust at the edges. I was reluctant to read it because, due to the courtesy of a few un-wise friends and critics, my mind told me that the book is crap and it contains too much of descriptions and lengthy, unreadable character sketches. So much that my brain might even explode at seeing the string of ink printed pages (filled with boring stuff). Some of my friends even mocked that the book was blessed with a few dialogues amidst the never ending descriptions. But my heart still wanted to explore the world of hobbits, dwarves, goblins, elves and Gandalf! So, what next?! A battle was waged. Fierce, and gruesome. Blood was shed, the heart was pinched, brain torn and thoughts killed. But in the end, the heart beat the drum in victory.

Okay. Enough of the drama. 😛 So having read the book now, I can simply assure you that each and every word said by my friends is crap! The Hobbit is dazzlingly marvelous! Perfect! Flawless! Staggering! I have never in my life read a book so beautifully crafted that it even puts the Arkenstone to shame! Though the book is a bit descriptive in the beginning, but it did not bother me for even a jiffy. The reading experience is completely unhampered and continuative.

The Hobbit tells the story of an unsuspecting and unadventurous hobbit, Bilbo Baggins, who is made to set off on a journey that will change his life forever. A bit clichéd. Huh? Not at all. He embarks on a journey so magical, so dark and yet so bright that it changes his character completely. He discovers stuff that he did not even know existed in him. He discovers the spirit of adventure, of power, and of burglary ( and don’t forget, also of starvation! ). With only such a ‘clichéd’ thought in mind, Tolkien weaves a story so magnificent and so breathtaking, filled with such visionary characters, that The Hobbit remains unparalleled till today.

The Hobbit is not a story that makes you cry or bring out the emotional you but a tale that fills you with the courage to discover untraveled lands. The Hobbit is not a book that will make you go through a period of self-discovery but a story that will leave you spellbound and would make you fall in love with the mesmerizing world of fantasy. The Hobbit is not a story that will make you stare at its pages and soak in all its power but a tale that will fill you with enough mirth and enthusiasm to make an adventure of your own!

To sum up I would say that The Hobbit is nothing but holy! Tolkien somehow traps you in his beautifully created words and a divinely crafted story that will leave you engrossed with Bilbo Baggins and his ring. Tolkien may your beard grow ever long! (OK. That is weird…) May your memory never wither! (That seems better! :))

This book is truly one of my prized possessions. And it has been with me for ages. For ages I have kept it safe in my library, safe from this wicked world. For this was my birthday present. And for this is my PRECIOUSSss…

 

*This is probably going to be my last post for the next 2-3 weeks. (Exams, you see!) But I’ll sure be back with a bang (hopefully!). Scarface, I guess you need to wait for some time, but don’t worry I won’t hang you up! 🙂 Hopefully see you in July! 🙂

Leave a Reply

