Mr. Parker – Day 5 #writing101

Today’s Prompt: You stumble upon a random letter on the path.You read it. It affects you deeply, and you wish it could be returned to the person to which it’s addressed. Write a story about this encounter.

Today’s twist: Approach this post in as few words as possible.

“Hello! Are you Theodore Parker?” I asked as a young man, dressed in a suit opened the door.

“Yes. And you are?”

“I’m Sam and well, I found a letter addressed to you on my way from the library.”

“Oh thanks!” Replied a jovial voice, as I handed the letter.

“Umm… I’m sorry but I couldn’t help reading it. It’s from your dad…” I added. Suddenly his face lost all expression. He just stood still, staring at me with empty eyes.

Next moment he started reading the letter. The writer of the letter had claimed that he was this man’s father. He further apologised for not being a part of his son’s life for the past twenty-five years. Lastly, along with giving proof that his claim was right, the writer also said that he now lived with his family and would love to meet his son.

Tears had now welled up in the corner of Parker’s eyes. He still said nothing but continued to stare at that piece of paper. He only reacted when his mother called him up for dinner.

“I think I should go now” I said as I started to turn, still expecting a reaction.

“Hmmm…”

I was halfway towards the gate when I heard his voice call me back.

“Can you take this back to the place where you found it?” He finally spoke, but with a hollow voice.

“Yes…sure. But why?”

“This man did not give me the childhood I deserved, and I will surely not let him ruin the future me and my mother have earned.”

14 thoughts on “Mr. Parker – Day 5 #writing101

  1. I must say that crying is an option after reading this. I feel bad for the father and even more so for the son, either way it makes me wonder what would you do if you were given the choice to return the letter…? Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Um…. It’s hard to say… Ideally, if I had been his friend, I would have found a way, if possible, to trace the father. But since I barely know this person, I think I would just do as he says….right??
      What would do you think you would do??

      Like

Leave a Reply

