O’ Captain, My Captain – Day 6 #writing101

Today’s Prompt: Who’s the most interesting person (or people) you’ve met this year?

Today’s twist: Turn your post into a character study.

“Good Morning, children! So, how’s life?” were his first words, as he entered our class of thirty-four. He stood in front of us with a soft smile, but gleaming from his eyes. Probably the only thing glowing more than his eyes was his head and he had a tendency of gently stroking his hands on his smooth crown. He was dressed in a checked shirt and, with a bulging top pocket. His pair of trousers went down to cover a part of his shoes. He looked at us with hopeful eyes as we pondered upon a question which no teacher had asked us before. As no one of us was able to answer his question, he moved on with his introduction. “Kids, I’m Sanjeev Pandey and I’ll teach you English. Don’t worry! I won’t bore you future engineers with my poems and sonnets…rather, to make things more interesting, we’ll not only talk about English but also touch subjects such as life. Now, as I call out your names, I want you to stand up, and give a small introduction about yourself. Speak out the things you love doing and also tell me the happiest moment of your life…” I don’t know if my classmates felt it, but I could feel his warmth embracing me. I felt secure in his presence. His eyes were a doorway to his heart, which was filled with innocence and wisdom.

As the class proceeded, I noticed that there was something unique about him, other than his double layered neck. It was his style of teaching that particularly swayed my teenage heart. He would rather help his students find their path rather than insist upon teaching what’s in the book. He rather enjoyed himself while teaching than rant about how troublesome our class can be. He seemed more interested in making us grow intellectually, than make our notebooks grow. He did not play by the rules. He made up his own game.

Sir even had a thing for stories. Good stories. Whenever the opportunity presented itself, he would share a story with us. And whenever we had a few more spare minutes, he would ask us to share stories. Not only stories, some used to sing, some mimic and some even told jokes. Almost every one of us enjoyed his classes to the fullest. Therefore whenever it came to his period, I tried to be the Hermione Granger of my class (I know the relation is weird to picturize, but it’s true). I used to finish all my homework, prepare my lessons and revise my jokes before his class. 😉

But unfortunately, good things don’t last forever. Sir taught us only for a year until English was removed from our coaching subjects. Now, knowing that there won’t be a bold, cheerful and shaven face to greet me when I get back to school, I fell a little sad. But nevertheless, he’ll always be there, ready to answer my doubts or talk about life, in a staff-room three doors to the right.

9 thoughts on “O’ Captain, My Captain – Day 6 #writing101

  1. Ah he seems to be a very good teacher. Very rarely do we get to interact with people like that indeed. 🙂 I loved our English teacher back in school too. She was simply the best and much of the driving force behind my enthusiasm towards the language!

    And don’t worry, I’ve practically tried to be the Hermione Granger of my class all my life. 😀 And now I do that at work too! 😀 😀

    Good writing, again. Your language is crisp and flows smoothly.

    Liked by 1 person

    • 😀 I guess, then it’s something about the English teachers.. 😉 But seriously, we need more teachers like them, who teach something outside the book too…
      Hehe…well, then I think it’s not bad being like Hermione at all (and it helps you in class tests too! ;D )… 😀
      Thank you.. 🙂 🙂

      Like

    • Yeah…he was the best teacher that I’ve been ever taught by, and it will kind of stink now that he won’t teach me anymore.. But who knows, maybe one of my next teachers will be as good as him… 🙂
      Hehe.. and no it didn’t sound as bad as you think… 😉 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

