Chocolate – Day 18 #writing101

Today’s Prompt: Write this story in first person, told by the twelve-year-old sitting on the stoop across the street.

Today’s twist: For those of you who want an extra challenge, think about more than simply writing in first-person point of view — build this twelve-year-old as a character. Reveal at least one personality quirk, for example, either through spoken dialogue or inner monologue.

The neighbourhood has seen better days, but Mrs. Pauley has lived there since before anyone can remember. She raised a family of six boys, who’ve all grown up and moved away. Since Mr. Pauley died three months ago, she’d had no income. She’s fallen behind in the rent. The landlord, accompanied by the police, has come to evict Mrs. Pauley from the house she’s lived in for forty years.

Oh! Poor Mrs. Pauley, I thought as I saw the sweet old lady reason with a bunch of policemen and her unethical landlord. She is a very caring human, but her landlord is not. He’s only interested in extracting the green paper out of Mrs. Pauley’s hollow figure. She’s such a nice lady yet the man troubles her so much. I remember when three months ago Mr. Pauley died. Almost everyone in the street had attended the funeral. The entire neighbourhood used to respect and admire him. Ah and he was a friendly fellow too! But after his passing, she seems to have become so thin and lean. It’s like all the marrow has been sucked out of her bones. And she’s grown so lonely too. I honestly feel bad for her. Oh I wish could do something for her, maybe save her from all this trouble. She’s been so nice to me all these years, and she always gives me the most number of candies on Halloween! Maybe I should help…but how? YES! Maybe I can ask Dad!! But…he’s out of town… OR I can ask Mom! But…I’m too scared to ask her…remember how she blurted out when I asked her if we could adopt the stray dog…No no! I’m not asking her again…. So, now what?! Let me check how much I have in my piggy bank…hm..but will it be enough to pay the rent of a two-storied, well-furnished independent house…I guess not. Oh God! Where have all the people gone who used to come stumbling down to Mr. Pauley when they needed any life-advice? Where have all those people gone who used to come begging to Mrs. Pauley when they faced a parenting crisis? Where are all those people now? Oh this world is a giddy place…when you’re all well and happy, people come flocking towards you, but no one bats an eye when they see you in your times of need… Oh I’ll just go and make some hot chocolate for Mrs. Pauley.

 

5 thoughts on “Chocolate – Day 18 #writing101

Leave a Reply

