Old But Gold – Day 20 #writing101

Today’s Prompt: Tell us the story of your most-prized possession.

Today’s Twist: We extolled the virtues of brevity back on day five, but now, let’s jump to the other side of the spectrum and turn to longform writing.

My most prized possession eh? Let me see…the book signed by Ruskin Bond…nah, my Bluetooth speaker…nope, my coin collection! …nada. Oh! Then it must be my life sized Stormtrooper statue!! (Waaait a minute…do I even have one?)

Though I love all that stuff, none of it can be branded as my most prized possession. In fact, I don’t even know if I can award this term to any of my possessions, because you see, I’m emotionally attached to a lot of junk that I collect.  But there is this one thing that I believe, has a somewhat greater value than the other stuff. Prepare to be surprised because it’s a Floppy-Disk Box.

Yup, a dull black, repulsively formal looking, and too-damn-hard-to-open floppy box. It’s a perfectly edged cuboid, which looks like a tiffin-box-gone-wrong, from a distance. To open the box up, you need to push its one side, and open the lid, which works exactly like a hoodie. The box’s utter blackness makes it difficult to locate the side which has to be pushed, thus causing a few cuts, while opening it. After you manage to open it, which may take a couple of minutes, you’ll find exactly six floppies inside it, still, jet black in colour. And…um..well, that’s it.

Well, to be frank, I have not the slightest idea of how this box came into my possession, nor do I have a clue of how long this has been in my evil clutches. *cold laugh* But the one thing that I can explain is why I love it so much.

It all started when one fine day, my piggy bank reached its water mark. Now, naturally, a normal person would break this treasure chest, use the money and buy a new money bank. But no! How could I have done that?! So, I started looking for a new place to store my money, which would also make it possible to use the money whenever possible. And then I found this. It was perfect! No one would suspect that this little piece of forgotten junk contains gold !

Now, there are only three sources from which this black box reflects a tint of silver. My birthday, any visiting relative that has been satisfied with his/her visit and the kabadiwala. Yes, the recycling-man. You see it has become somewhat of a tradition, whenever someone sells the newspapers or old books to the recycling man, the money comes to me… ;D So cool, right! =) Thus, I have the security of getting at least a hundred bucks once every two months.

Let’s just hop on to the main part of why this floppy box is so important to me. Now, once I had a thousand rupees in the box, I started to wonder how I should spend them…and well, nothing came to my mind. Absolutely nothing! I realized that everything I needed, and wanted, was already given to me by my parents, and I could think of nothing that I would buy with that money. Bummer! Then what?! I waited and waited and waited for the opportunity to arise but all in vain. Then, one fine October morning it struck me. It hit me like a walnut coming down with the acceleration of gravity! It really did hit me hard. Maybe I can buy my ma something on her birthday! That sounds about right. Or maybe I can surprise her with a present! Better still! I will surprise her with her favourite bouquet of roses, right in the morning! Nailed it!

So, on the eve of her birthday, I cycled to the nearest flower shop and booked a bouquet of red roses for the next morning. And when she finally received the flowers on her birthday, I could not differentiate what looked prettier, the scarlet red roses or the smile on her face… Best amount of money ever spent in my life! And then I did the same thing on my father’s birthday and their anniversary. Now I’ve moved on to books and movie night outs, but the aim still remains the same.

Eventually, my parents did find out about the floppy box and even figured out how to open it. Blimey! Now, even though it’s no secret anymore, everyone calls this floppy box, The Secret Money Box. Yup. Now whenever someone wants small change, or is looking for the easiest way to pay the press-waala bhaiya (Iron-Man) 😉 he knows exactly where I keep my floppy box.

But you know what, in the long run, I guess, it’s the small things that you do for each other that matter. Sure, who would not love you if you gift a Lamborghini to someone, but in the end, it’s the small things that really bring people close… : )

15 thoughts on “Old But Gold – Day 20 #writing101

  1. Wonderfully written! I want to see that floppy box!! 😛

    My money used to be hidden scattered inside all my books! I was a very frugal spender and used to hoard lots and lots of money. *MY PRECIOUS!!* I think I bought my first novel with it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      • Well, see it was quite a challenge. Remembering how much money was in each book! And searching for it deftly without raising suspicion. Lol, those were the times 😀

        And quite strangely, the first ever novel I read was Harry Potter And the Prisoner of Azkaban! Because that was the only book the footpath-bookshop wala had. I read the Harry Potter books in a very weird order. Probably because I watched the movies as well, it wasn’t much trouble keeping up with the story. The order is this: 3,6,1,4,5,2,7 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  2. You’re status of ultra cool almost went up a few notches until you said you did not own the stormtrooper statue. Severely disappointed. I do agree that it’s the little things that make the best gifts. They are the ones remembered most and best.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Man, that was wonderfully written indeed!
    Flowers are always mom’s best friend, next to chocklets.

    It’s to bad your parents knew how to open your floppy box. Now I wanna see it to like the first commenter who posted here :):.

    Just a question were you consittering chocklets?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks bro! 😀 Truly, flowers and chocolates are mom’s best friend! The first time, I didn’t give chocolates because the flower shop didn’t have them, but the next time, I did.. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

